keep your / hand on the rail / if / all / else fails

<< Wednesday, Dec. 06, 2006 - 8:25 am >>
the story of mats israelson

yesterday evening i was waiting around and had free time on my anxious hands. so i absent-mindedly began reading a collection of short stories by julian barnes whom i have much respect for, for having authored one of my favourite books of all time, flaubert's parrot.

the story of mats israelson from the lemon table turned out to be a sort of a love story. it was written in his characteristically careful, humourous but sympathetic tone. to my pleasure i found that in many respects it was the perfect short story for me: it kept me wondering and thinking for hours after the last word was swallowed.

after reading i listened to damien jurado's what were the chances on repeat which was the perfect song to match the story. yum.

(p.s. i might be seeing band of horses this saturday.)