keep your / hand on the rail / if / all / else fails

<< Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006 - 8:23 am >>
a badge of honour

oh god. i am so sore. last night was eventful, to say the least. geoff with a g and i went to see the mountain goats. we were right at the front.

i remember feeling dizzy and stuffy in the middle of the show. i remember leaning on my friend and passing out. i was so scared and embarrassed. and then i puked. right in front of my friend. on my shoes. and him and some others too apparently. (fyi, i was not drunk or stoned. i'm just anaemic and really weird.)

afterwards, i felt so bad about ruining the show for my friend that i was determined to get his cd signed by john darnielle. it was definitely worth the wait. john quoted a 17th century poem that goes:
"For I will consider my Cat Jeoffry.
For he is the servant of the Living God duly and daily serving him."
john is so awesome.

then this guy comes up and says to us, "considering this girl vomited on me, may i borrow her pen for a second?" i felt so bad about that. john and geoff and everyone were bewildered. then we all laughed and took a picture together -- needless to say, i look like a trainwreck.

but it's all good. geoff got a poem from john. the guy i puked on borrowed a pen from me (which was geoff's). and me, i shall be remembered by the crowd as the girl who puked and passed out during the mountain goats gig. sigh. now i wanna eat some porridge before i take my student out to the museum as i promised her last night.

(p.s. sometimes i like to say more. sometimes i like to say little. thanks for reading.)